Midweek Read

Let me start off by saying I almost cried at the end of this book because the ending was so beautiful. (Horses always get me emotional…) Unfortunately, by the time I got to that point my opinion of the first half had already settled in. I don’t want to scare you away, but it was mediocre…but that seems to work for a lot of readers these days. Now before you get all offended I’ll admit that I’ve read all the twilight books too…and those are sub par. Yet, we all enjoyed them! I guess the biggest problem here was it took me half of the book to find anything endearing about the characters. If I don’t love (or in some cases hate) or at least have some emotion towards the characters–something is wrong. If the characters/relationships aren’t captivating, then the story line better draw me in– and that’s not the case then the writing must be so captivating on its own that I don’t care…and that wasn’t happening either.

With that said I will admit that it picked up significantly half way through. The characters finally found their personality, the story got deeper, and I read the last 200 pages in two days…and don’t forget that image of me tearing up in my living room around midnight.

Midweek Read

So I guess what I’m trying to say is it is worth reading (especially the last half), but don’t expect a masterpiece.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

