Contests!

I just came across this Nonfiction Contest for Graywolf Press and I’m kicking myself for not being prepared. On the other hand, I was ecstatic to discover that this is an annual contest and I already have it on my calendar for next August. What a wonderful opportunity to push myself to write, and re-write, and re-write over the next year. Even if I don’t get the prize (and this is a PRIZE) I’ll at least have 100 or more pages of a manuscript I’m passionate about and I will send it somewhere else–again, and again and again. If anyone has 100 pages of a nonfiction work, hurry and send it in! The submission period ends today.

Speaking of contests, PW.org has become my best friend. If you’re like me and aren’t prepared for the wonderful opportunity above, don’t despair. PW.org has a continuous list of contests and calls for submission from a range of magazines looking for fiction, poetry, and nonfiction works. Good luck!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

